‘He’s lucky’ - Former referee believes VAR missed big call in Chelsea’s win at Leicester City

Watch more of our videos on Shots! 
and live on Freeview channel 276
Visit Shots! now
Chelsea players were on the receiving end of two possible red-card challenges against Leicester City.

Leicester City defender Ricardo Pereira should have received at least a yellow card for his challenge on Chelsea’s Joao Felix last weekend, believes former referee Dermot Gallagher.

Pereira caught Felix with a late tackle, as he stamped on the player’s ankle but escaped punishment, with VAR not recommending a review.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

Gallagher felt the decision to not even brandish a caution was incorrect, as Chelsea won the game 3-1 at the King Power Stadium.

“I think it should have been more than a free-kick - it should’ve been sanctioned,” said Gallagher on Sky Sports News.

“Does the VAR think it’s enough for a red card? Obviously not, otherwise they’d have sent him off.

“But the question is, if the VAR had felt it was bordering on a red card and sent him, the referee retaining all options would he have gone to the screen and yellow carded him, so he would’ve been sanctioned.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

He added: “I think he’s lucky but if he’d have got a yellow card then people would’ve accepted. There’s no way it’s just a free-kick only.”

Kai Havertz was also on the end of a rough challenge from Daniel Amartey as the Leicester man’s studs left a visible mark on the forward’s mid-rift.

However, Gallagher insisted it should not have been a red card. He insisted: “I don’t think so this is reckless at worst. He clearly gets the ball and follows through there is no doubt about that.

“I understand [that Havertz is wounded] but I have been in games where players have had broken legs and it wasn’t a red card. I am not saying that is right but injuries are part and parcel of the game.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

“Amartey won the ball cleanly without doubt but followed through recklessly. A yellow card would have been sufficient. It is hard to give a red card when a player so clearly wins the ball. “

Gallagher also weighed in on the incident which saw James Maddison’s free-kick blocked by Chelsea defender Wesley Fofana inside the penalty area.

The ball struck Fofan’s elbow as he jumped to defend the shot and Gallagher said: “I hear lots of people talking about this. It hits his arm there is no doubt about that. Is he making himself bigger?

“I think not, I think his arm is tucked in. Lots of people says it should be a penalty but I think that is a tough call for the ref.”

Related topics:

Comment Guidelines

National World encourages reader discussion on our stories. User feedback, insights and back-and-forth exchanges add a rich layer of context to reporting. Please review our Community Guidelines before commenting.