Who has received the most Premier League penalties? Arsenal, Chelsea & Man Utd record compared to rivals

13 of the 20 top-flight teams have been awarded a penalty at some stage this season.

Watch more of our videos on Shots! 
and live on Freeview channel 276
Visit Shots! now

Premier League referees and VAR officials have been in the spotlight a great deal this season and they have already awarded a total of 35 penalties so far this term. The most recent of those came during Chelsea’s thrilling 4-4 draw against defending champions Manchester City as summer signing Cole Palmer stepped up to score a crucial equaliser for the Blues against his former club.

The 95th minute strike was not the only goal to come from 12 yards in the eight-goal thriller and the scoring was opened in controversial circumstances when leading goalscorer Erling Haaland was awarded a controversial penalty after a foul from Marc Cucurella. 

The introduction of VAR, has in many cases made the awarding of penalties an even more contentious subject than ever before. But which team has been awarded the most penalties in the top-flight and who has the best conversion rate? Here’s everything you need to know.

Who has been awarded the most Premier League penalties?

Mikel Arteta has already made the headlines this season with his scathing attack on the VAR officials and the refereeing standards this season.  However, his Arsenal side have been awarded more penalties than any other team this season with six spot kicks. The Gunners boast a perfect 100 percent conversion rate from the spot with the likes of Bukayo Saka, Martin Odegaard, Kai Havertz and Fabio Vieira all showing composure from 12 yards.

Fellow London side Chelsea sit second in the rankings with five penalties this term. Blues midfielder Cole Palmer smashed in his fourth penalty of the season to earn an equaliser against Manchester City, but Enzo Fernandez was denied by West Ham goalkeeper Alphonse Areola back in August.

Manchester City and Liverpool are locked level in third place for penalties and both sides have a record of three goals and one miss from the spot with Erling Haaland and Mohamed Salah both missing one each.

Newcastle and Aston Villa have been awarded three penalties each and have converted all three with Alexander Isak, Callum Wilson and Douglas Luiz all showing their composure. Overall a total of 13 out of 20 top-flight clubs have been awarded a penalty at some stage this season. However, the likes of Tottenham Hotspur, Wolves, Everton, Nottingham Forest, Fulham, Bournemouth and Burnley are all still waiting for their first penalty.

Here is the full Premier League penalties table

  1. Arsenal: awarded 6 (scored 6)
  2. Chelsea: awarded 5 (scored 4)
  3. Manchester City: awarded 4 (scored 3)
  4. Liverpool: awarded 4 (scored 3)
  5. Newcastle: awarded 3 (scored 3)
  6. Aston Villa: awarded 3 (scored 3)
  7. Luton: awarded 2 (scored 2)
  8. Sheffield United: awarded 2 (scored 2)
  9. Brentford: awarded 2 (scored 2)
  10. Brighton: awarded 1 (scored 1)
  11. West Ham: awarded 1 (scored 1)
  12. Crystal Palace: awarded 1 (scored 1)
  13. Manchester United: awarded 1 (scored 1)