London mayor election: Polling day, timetable and rules for 2024 vote

The City of London seen from Greenwich Park. The City of London seen from Greenwich Park.
The City of London seen from Greenwich Park. | AFP via Getty Images
These are the key dates and details for the election for London's mayor and for members of the London Assembly in 2024.

Londoners will go to the polls in 2024 to elect the city's mayor and 25 London Assembly members.

The vote takes place on Thursday May 2, this year with a new voting system and a voter ID requirements.

The election count takes place on Saturday May 4.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

Photo ID

Voters must now show a photo ID at any polling station in the UK. If you do not have one of the specified forms of ID you can apply for a Voter Authority Certificate.

New voting system for London mayor

Previously voters were able to make a first and second choice vote - known as a 'supplementary vote' system.

Under the new system, voters can make one choice only. 'First past the post' is also used for UK Parliamentary elections.

London election timetable

  • These are the key dates for the mayoral and London Assembly elections:
  • Pre-election period: March 19 2024
  • Nominations: March 19-27 2024
  • Candidates announced: March 28 2024
  • Registration to vote deadline: April 16 2024
  • Voting: Thursday May 2 2024 - polling stations open from 7am to 10pm
  • Verification of the number of ballot papers : Friday May 3
  • Count commences: Saturday May 4 2024 at 9am

London mayor candidates

Here are the candidates in alphabetical order.

  • Femy Amin, Animal Welfare Party - People, Animals, Environment
  • Count Binface, Count Binface for Mayor of London
  • Rob Blackie, Liberal Democrat
  • Natalie Denise Campbell, Independent
  • Howard Cox, ReformUK - London Deserves Better
  • Amy Gallagher, Social Democratic Party
  • Zoë Garbett, Green Party
  • Tarun Ghulati, Independent
  • Susan Mary Hall, Conservative Party
  • Sadiq Khan, Labour Party
  • Andreas Christoffi Michli, Independent
  • Brian Benedict Rose, London Real Party - Transform London
  • Nick Scanlon, Britain First - No To Immigration

Count venues

The counts and declarations, which are not open to the public, will take place at nine venues:

  • Alexandra Palace - (Barnet and Camden), (Enfield and Haringey)
  • ExCel - (Bexley and Bromley), (City and East), (Croydon and Sutton), (Greenwich and Lewisham), (Havering and Redbridge)
  • Harrow Leisure Centre - (Brent and Harrow)
  • Marquee, Walpole Park - (Ealing and Hillingdon)
  • Oval Cricket Ground - (Lambeth and Southwark)
  • Westway Sports and Fitness Centre - (Merton and Wandsworth)
  • Copper Box Arena - (North East)
  • St Mary’s University, Twickenham - (South West)
  • Olympia - (West Central)

Comment Guidelines

National World encourages reader discussion on our stories. User feedback, insights and back-and-forth exchanges add a rich layer of context to reporting. Please review our Community Guidelines before commenting.