Where is my polling station? Where to vote in London local elections 2022 - and opening and closing times

The majority of London will be heading to the polling stations on 5 May.

It’s ballot papers at the ready London as the capital is bracing itself for the local elections, which are due to take place soon.

With over 6,000 candidates all vying for the seats available, every vote will count on local election day in May.

Labour will look to build on their tremendous day back in 2018, as they took control of a whopping 21 boroughs out of the 32 in London.

When is the local election?

Local elections are happening up and down the country in various locations, and the day it falls on is Thursday, 5 May.

How do I vote?

There are many ways in which people can vote. These include by post, by proxy or in person.

In person voting is seemingly the most common, where people pop down to their local polling stations, and vote for who they want.

People can also choose to have someone to vote for them, this is known as a proxy vote. It’s important that you pick someone who you trust to vote for you. The deadline for a proxy vote has now passed, but you can still get an emergency proxy vote on the day of the election, before 5pm.

People tend to use a proxy vote if they can’t make it through work commitments, or if they are out of the country.

Where can I vote in London?

Here’s one place from every borough in London where you can vote:

Barking and Dagenham - Dagenham & Redbridge F.C., Victoria Road, Dagenham,RM10 7XL

Barnet - Canons High School, Shaldon Road, Edgware, HA8 6AN

Bexley - Alers Road Hall, Alers Road, Bexleyheath, Kent, DA6 8JS

Brent - Kilburn Square Housing Co-Op, Kilburn Square Tower, London, NW6 6PT

Bromley - Bromley Football Club, (The Venue Suite), Hayes Lane, Hayes, BR2 9EF

Camden Town - CASTLEHAVEN COMMUNITY CENTRE - THE HAVEN, 23 Castlehaven Road, London, NW1 8RU

Croydon - Croydon & District Masonic Hall, The Doyle, Ante-Room, 73 Oakfield Road, Croydon, CR0 2UX

Ealing - Greenford Library, 25 Oldfield Lane South, Greenford, UB6 9LG

Enfield - Temporary Building (Charles Babbage House), Orton Grove, EN1 4TU

Greenwich - St. Joseph’s RC Primary School, Commerell Street, London, SE10 9AN

Hackney - Shoreditch Town Hall, 380 Old Street, London, EC1V 9LT

Hammersmith & Fulham - Kenmont Primary School, Valliere Road, London, NW10 6AL

Haringey - Coldfall Primary School, Coldfall Avenue, London, N10 1HS

Harrow - St George’s Parish Church Hall, St Georges Church Hall, 55 St Andrews Avenue, Sudbury, HA0 2QE

Havering - Romford Baptist Church, Main Road, Romford, RM1 3BL

Hillingdon - Yew Tree Lodge, Yew Tree Gardens, Romford, RM7 9AA

London Borough of Hounslow - Passer Court Community Centre, 149E, Sparrow Farm Drive, Feltham, TW14 0DJ

Islington - Hugh Myddelton Primary School, Myddelton Street, London, EC1R 1YJ

Kensington and Chelsea - Park Walk Primary School, Park Walk, London, SW10 0AY

Kingston upon Thames - United Reformed Church, Eden Street, Kingston upon Thames, KT1 1HZ

For the remaining boroughs in London, you can find your local polling station by putting your postcode into the official polling station finder.

What are the opening times for polling stations?

Polling stations in London open at 7am and will close at 10am, with emergency proxies needed to be sorted before 5pm on the day of the election.