Live: Old Bexley and Sidcup by-election

Voters in Old Bexley and Sidcup are choosing a new MP to replace the late James Brokenshire.

Will the Conservatives hold on to the seat - or could Labour do some damage to their majority here?

Follow all the updates live with LondonWorld...

Old Bexley and Sidcup by-election live updates

Show new updates

Conservatives win Old Bexley and Sidcup

CONS HOLD - Cons retain Old Bexley and SIdcup with 11,189 votes

Polls close in Old Bexley and Sidcup by-election

Polls have closed in the Old Bexley and Sidcup by-election.

Voting booths shut their doors at 10pm this evening (Thursday, December 2).

The electorate - and candidates - have done all they can.

Follow our liveblog and @LondonWorldCom on Twitter for live updates throughout the night.

There are 11 candidates in the running.

  • Elaine Frances Cheeseman, The English Democrats
  • Daniel Francis, Labour Party
  • Louie Thomas French, Conservative Party
  • Richard Hewison, Rejoin EU
  • David Michael Kurten, Heritage Party
  • John Edmund Poynton, UK Independence Party (UKIP)
  • Simone Reynolds, Liberal Democrats
  • Jonathan Scot Rooks, Green Party
  • Richard James Sunley Tice, Reform UK
  • Carol Margaret Valinejad, Christian Peoples Alliance
  • Mad Mike Young, Official Monster Raving Loony Party

Whoever replaces James Brokenshire in south-east London will have big shoes to fill, according to residents in Bexley village.

Beneath the wooden beams in the Kings Head pub in Bexley, punters and staff are still reminiscing about their previous MP.

James Brokenshire, who represented Old Bexley and Sidcup from 2010 until his death in October, used to pop into the boozer for a pint and a chat.

Former prime minister Ted Heath, who was also MP for the south-east London constituency, also enjoyed a beer in a the friendly pub, and his photo still takes pride of place on the wall.

Mr Brokenshire’s tragic death from lung cancer aged just 53 sparked Thursday’s by-election.

Page 1 of 3