New Stormzy album This Is What I Mean: when is the release date, what is the track list & who features on it?

In 2019, Stormzy became the first black British solo artist to headline Glastonbury
Watch more of our videos on Shots! 
and live on Freeview channel 276
Visit Shots! now

London-born rapper Stormzy has announced he will release his new third studio album next month.It’s been a quiet few years for the artist, who featured on the single ‘Clash’ with fellow Brit,Dave, in 2021 before releasing ‘Mel Made Me Do It’ in 2022.

On social media, Stormzy also announced that another song from ‘This Is What I Mean, named ‘Hide & Seek’ will be released at midnight on Friday.

The artist, born in Croydon, took a long three-year hiatus on social media, but">returned to Instagram to share the art for the upcoming album which depicted a letter sat on a doorstep with the album title printed on it.

It will be Stormzy’s third studio album, following Gang Signs & Prayer (2017) and Heavy Is The Head (2019).

His debut album, Gang Signs & Prayer entered the UK Albums Chart at number one with sales of over 68,000 copies, becoming the first grime album in history to reach number one and It also charted in twelve other countries. The album also included seven songs in the top 40 upon release.

Heavy Is the Head debuted at number two on the UK Albums Chart, ahead of Harry Styles’ Fine Line. In early 2020, it moved to number one on the Albums Chart.

Heavy Is the Head was supported by the singles "Vossi Bop" and “Own It” Vossi Bop became Stormzy’s first ever UK Number One on the UK Singles Chart, whilst “Own It” also reached number one.

What is the title of the new album?

Stormzy’s upcoming album is named ‘This Is What I Mean’ - and is set to be released on November 25 2022.

In a press release, he revealed that most of the album’s creative energy was created in a music camp on Osea Island.

He said “We’re all musicians but we weren’t always doing music. Some days we played football or walked around taking pictures. And the bi-product to that was very beautiful music.

“Because when you marry that ethos with world class musicians and the best producers, writers and artists in the world, and we’re in one space, that’s a recipe for something that no one can really imagine.

“You can’t even calculate what that’s going to come up with. And it came up with a big chunk of this album.”

What is the tracklist?

Accompanied with the cover art, he also released the tracklist for his album.

The songs are:

  • Fire + Water
  • This Is What I Mean
  • Firebabe
  • Please
  • Need You
  • Hide & Seek
  • My Presidents Are Black
  • Sampha’s Plea
  • Holy Spirit
  • Bad Blood
  • I Got My Smile Back
  • Give It To The Water

Who features on This Is What I Mean?

So far, not much is known about the album. One of the songs, ‘Sampha’s Plea’ could indicate a feature or inspiration from Sampha, who is from South London.

On his latest hit ‘Mel Made Me Do It’ - which will not feature on This Is What I Mean, Wretch 32 and JME were just some of the artists to appear in the music video, and could well feature on the upcoming album.