Boris Johnson: How your MP likely voted in the prime minister’s no confidence vote

The prime minister survived a no confidence vote with 211 MPs voting for Boris Johnson, while 148 voted against him.

Boris Johnson has won a vote of no confidence by Conservative MPs to decide whether the prime minister was fit to continue his role

It was triggered after 54 Tory MPs submitted their letters of no confidence against the prime minister.

Mr Johnson won the vote at 211 to 148 to keep him as leader of the party, which was a lower proportion than Theresa May received in 2018.

The vote took place to determine Mr Johnson’s future as the prime minister, following the numerous public scandals during his time at Number 10.

Most recently the partygate fiasco, followed by the Sue Gray report, saw several no confidence letters handed in against the PM.

Despite winning the vote, a massive 41% of his party voted against him, with calls from some Tory MPs for him to still step down.


The ballot was private, meaning that no MPs had to come forward to share how they voted, however from public statements we can deduce how most voted.

Let’s take a look at the opinions of the Conservative MPs across London.

Prime Minister Boris Johnson holds a press conference in response to the publication of the Sue Gray report Into “Partygate” at Downing Street on May 25, 2022 in London, England (Photo by Leon Neal - WPA Pool /Getty Images)

London MPs voting against the prime minister in the no confidence vote

Here are the London Conservative MPs that have spoken publicly against Boris Johnson:

  • Stephen Hammond - Wimbledon


Stephen Hammond is one of the 54 MPs that has put in a letter of no confidence against the PM.

The backbencher said that all he can do is “speak out and submit a letter.”

  • Sir Bob Neill - Bromley and Chislehurst

Sir Bob Neill has submitted a letter of no confidence against Boris Johnson.

He spoke of trust within the party and said “to rebuild that trust and move on, a change in leadership is required.”

  • David Simmonds - Ruislip, Northwood and Pinner


David Simmonds has publicly called for the prime minister to resign following the Sue Gray report.

Mr Simmonds shared his thoughts on Boris Johnson, saying that “it was time for him to step down so that new leadership can take forward the important work.”

  • Elliot Colburn - Carshalton and Wallington

Elliot Colborn has submitted a letter of no confidence against the prime minister.

  • Nickie Aiken - Cities of London and Westminster

Ms Aiken has not said anything publicly today, but on May 30 she urged PM to “end speculation” and call the vote himself.


She said she was “incredulous and appalled” by the Sue Gray Report.

London MPs that are voting for Boris Johnson in the no confidence vote

This is the list of London Conservative MPs that have shared publicly that they will be voting for Boris Johnson in tonight’s no confidence vote:

  • Chris Philp - Croydon South

Chris Philip has tweeted out in support of Boris Johnson, telling Twitter the PM will have his vote.

  • Sir David Evennett - Bexleyheath and Crayford


Sir David has shared on Twitter that he will be supporting the Prime Minister in the vote this evening, telling his followers that he does not believe that this is “the right moment for a leadership contest”.

  • Gareth Bacon - Orpington

Mr Bacon said he will be backing Mr Johnson tonight during the vote, telling his Twitter followers that the Conservatives “must stand united, focus on the job and deliver on people’s priorities.”

  • Greg Hands - Chelsea & Fulham

Mr Hands, a minister, has said he will support the prime minister tonight, despite not previously backing him in 2019.


  • Julia Lopez - Hornchurch and Upminster

Ms Lopez has tweeted that she will be backing the prime minister.

  • Mike Freer - Finchley and Golders Green

Mr Freer has said he will be supporting the prime minister in the vote tonight, telling his Twitter followers: “No one is infallible but I will support the PM as he has supported me and my constituency when needed.”

  • Paul Scully - Sutton and Cheam

Mr Scully has tweeted to say he will support the prime minister in the vote saying: “We need to unite to tackle the issues that matter on a day to day basis.”


  • Bob Stewart - Beckenham

Mr Stewart said back in January that he abhorred the Covid parties, but would stay loyal to Boris Johnson.

London MPs who have not shared their opinion on the no confidence vote

These are the MPs who have not shared whether they are voting for or against Boris Johnson tonight:


  • Sir Iain Duncan Smith - Chingford and Woodford Green: 
  • Andrew Rosindell - Romford 
  • Bob Blackman - Harrow East 
  • Felicity Buchan - Kensington
  • Louie French - Old Bexley and Sidcup 
  • Matthew Offord - Hendon
  • Theresa Villiers - Chipping Barnet