Vitality London 10k 2022: start time, route, landmarks, athletes including Mo Farah, and results

Runners will finish the race at Buckingham Palace

The Vitality London 10K is back, with thousands of runners spending their May Day bank holiday running through the streets of London, pitting their ability against top athletes.

The race, which takes in many of the capital city’s landmarks, will feature top athletes including Olympic champion, Mo Farah, English 10k champion, Nick Goolab, and Eilish McColgan, who holds the European record in the 10 km road race.

A new ‘Run for Ukraine’ run has also been added to the race this year, with participants encouraged to raise money for charities providing relief.

So what time does the race start, what is the route, which famous London landmarks will runners pass, and who are the big-name athletes taking part?

This is what you need to know.

When is the Vitality London 10K?

The Vitality 10K is on the May Day bank holiday, taking place on May 2, 2022.

What are the start times?

The assembly area was in Green Park, and different colours had different start times.

Runners take off in what is known as ‘waves’. Waves are done by colour, with a different one starting  every eight minutes, and the last setting off at 11:12, an hour and 12 minutes after the first wave started.

Here are the start times for all of the waves in the London 10K marathon.

  • Yellow: 10:00
  • Black: 10:08
  • Green: 10:16
  • Grey: 10:24
  • Purple: 10:32
  • Orange: 10:40
  • Red: 10:48
  • White: 10:56
  • Blue, run for Ukraine: 11:04
  • Pink, celebrate you: 11:12

What landmarks are seen on the route?

Due to the marathon being held in London, many iconic landmarks will be seen during the run.

These include:

  • Houses of Parliament
  • Buckingham Palace
  • Nelson’s Column
  • The London Eye
  • St Paul’s Cathedral

Runners will also pass by the  River Thames, London bridge and more.

What is the route?

The Vitality London 10K will kick off near St James, with the runners doing almost a complete circle before ending at Buckingham Palace.

Runners will run past Charing Cross station up past the Strand, and then break off left, going in an almost square formation that takes them past Chancery Lane station, past the first toilets on the route.

After that, runners will approach St Paul’s Cathedral, up near Broad street, coming back past Bank, Cannon Street and Mansion House tube stations.

Then the participants will double back on themselves going back past Temple and Strand.

Runners run partially the same route before the last straight, where they break off at the roundabout near Pall Mall, running past the Horse Guards Avenue and then turning right off of Westminster Bridge road, before running the last part, which culminates at Buckingham Palace.

To see the full route, visit the official London Vitality 10k website, where you can download a full PDF version.

Which athletes are competing?

Many elite level athletes are taking part in the race.

Some are using it as just general exercise, whilst some athletes are using it as a way to practise for upcoming events.

The names of high profile elite athletes taking part are:

  • Mo Farah
  • Eilish McColgan
  • Nick Goolab
  • Hugo Milner
  • Andy Butchart
  • Chris Thompson
  • Joshua Griffiths
  • Phil Sesemann
  • Jack Gray
  • Derek Hawkins
  • Mo Aadan 
  • Andrew Hayes
  • Charlotte Purdue
  • Samantha Harrison 
  • Jess Piasecki
  • Steph Twell - winner in 2018 and 2019
  • Shelly Woods 
  • David Weir

Speaking to Athletics Weekly, global track champion Mo Farah said: “I’m really looking forward to getting out there and racing again at an event that I really love. I’ve been working hard to get back into shape following my injury last summer.

“I have great memories of the event. I have won it seven times and racing in central London is something you can never get bored of. The atmosphere among the thousands of participants is always fantastic and I can’t wait to be part of it again.”

What are the results?

Elite women winner: Eilish McColgan - time: 30:23

Elite men winner: Ellis Cross - time: 28:40

Elite wheelchair men: Danny Sidbury - time: 21:22

Elite wheelchair women: Samantha Kinghorn - time: 24:45